Blocking ads removes funding from us!
Researching and writing articles takes a lot of time. Operating our infrastructure costs money.
All of this is funded with advertising revenue.
We don't like advertising either - that's why we avoid annoying banners and pop-ups.
Please give us a chance and deactivate your adblocker!
Alternatively, you can support us here voluntarily.

Follow us:


Google now lets you automatically delete your personal data

Image: pixabay.com
(Post picture: © 2016 pixabay.com)

The Google I/O 2019 you have sat a lot about data protectionprochen. Especially in our digital world, this is the number one topic. Now Google has released a new feature that automatically deletes your location data and web activity.

Anyone who has activated location history in their Google account will regularly receive recommendations about the places they have visited. Not only that: in most cases this is even automatically activated. For example, this has to be activated if you want to use the Google Assistant. In addition, Google Maps may move to an activated location history. With “My Timeline” you can have a map showing where you were on a particular day.

So you can have your Google location and web activities automatically deleted

You can already have your location history and other data at any time in his Google account. The new function has been available since yesterday, which one announced on the Google Blog has - you can now have it dealt with automatically. If you switch to the corresponding page in your account, you can now under "Web & App Activities" and "Manage Activities" auf dieser seite activate automatic deletion. Activities are currently saved until they are manually deleted.

Recently you can find the button "Delete automatically" underneath. Here you can choose from an automatic deletion after three or 18 months. It has been announced that you can also delete the location history automatically. It doesn't seem to work yet. At least I couldn't find the setting for it yet.

In the app of the search engine giant for Android and iOS, you can make the settings after clicking on "More" and then on "Search activity" or "Search activity". In the end, this is exactly the same page as linked above, only called directly in the app.

Recommendations for you

>> The best Amazon deals <

David Wurm

Do that TechnikNews-Ding together with a great team since 2015. Works in the background on the server infrastructure and is also responsible for everything editorial. Is fascinated by current technology and enjoys blogging about everything digital. In his free time he can often be found developing webs, taking photographs or making radio.

David has already written 965 articles and left 382 comments.

Web | Facebook | Twitter | Insta | YouTube | PayPal coffee donation
notification settings
notifications about
guest
Your name, which will be shown publicly.
We will not publish your email address.

2 Comments
latest
oldest Best
Inline feedback
View all comments
July

as if a single byte would be deleted on google ... it is only hidden, otherwise it remains on the hard drive there
whoever thinks that is naive

Gender

not available from apple 😉